top of page
Search

How to Stay Feeling Fresh When You're Constantly Moving

Something I wish to do more in life is experience life through travel, and my guest writer on this post has done just this! Lauryl Mergen could be considered an expert on the road-when you're looking for something roadtrip or travel related, her blog 'Lauryl Outdoors' is the perfect place for some advice or inspo to get you ready for your upcoming adventures. And so without further ado, here is Lauryl with some awesome tips on staying fresh during a busy day:


 

While at home I love to follow a simple morning and nighttime routine, but while driving across the country, it got pretty tricky to maintain my usual routine. Sometimes we stayed at family member’s houses, sometimes we stayed in cabins with no running water, sometimes it was a campsite on a river, and sometimes we slept in the car. My favorite tooth brushing and face washing spot along the way was the visitor’s center bathroom in Moab, Utah. It had wifi, and it took us three nights to notice the “please only use our sinks for handwashing” signs. Ooops.


Even though we never really had a constant set up at night, I could always rely on a few products to keep me feeling fresh. I love using my reusable makeup remover towels, and although I rarely use makeup, washing off the daily buildup of inevitable sweat and grime felt so nice. I love the Makeup Eraser brand, because the fabric is so soft, they come in cute colors, rinses easily, and are completely reusable! Even when there was only cold water, these clothes felt wonderful after a long day.


Another key part of my simplified nighttime routine was a moisturizer. Most days were spent in the car with dry AC or out in the sun, both of which zapped all the moisture out of my skin. My favorite moisturizer is the Burt’s Bees Brightening Moisturizer because it leaves my skin soft but not oily. I can’t handle feeling greasy, so if I’m happy with this moisturizer, you know it's a good one.


The last thing I did to maintain at least a decent appearance while going without a shower for longer than I’m willing to admit was keep my hair under control with a Boho Bandeau Headband. There are so many styles you can do with these, and they work wonders to hide and even dress up dirty and knotted hair. My favorite for the summer was a bright orange ombre, but I just got a darker floral print for the winter!

I wasn't super worried about how I looked on the trip, it was still nice to have a bit of routine to stick to and keep me feeling like I wasn't covered in dirt! I hope you find these useful!

0 comments
bottom of page